Colorado Car Insurance

car with logo

In Colorado, car insurance is required by law for all drivers.  Drivers in Colorado are required to have a liability coverage, which covers only the other driver and vehicle/property, when the accident is your fault.  The minimum liability coverage required for Colorado car insurance is $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 for property damage.

Quick Quote available CLICK HERE

All other insurance is option, although, if you have a loan on your car, or are leasing it, your lien holder will usually require that you also carry comprehensive and collision, which covers your vehicle from damage when the accident is your fault, or when hit by an animal, weather, or hit and run driver.

Failure to carry insurance can result in a $500 minimum fine, 4 points on your driver’s license, suspended license (first offense is suspension until proof of insurance can be shown, additional offenses it can be suspended up to 8 months), and community service.  Plus, if you do not have continuous insurance, you will have higher insurance rates than if you had continuous insurance.

All drivers in Colorado are required to carry valid proof of insurance, and produce it when requested by a police officer when pulled over or involved in an accident.  If you do not have proof of insurance, the officer can look it up on the Colorado car insurance database to verify you have the required coverage, however, you may still receive a citation for not carrying proof of insurance.

For more “Inside Information” about Colorado insurance laws and regulations call Inside Insurance today 866-672-9668

 

Utah car insurance requirements